How my loyalty shifted from Flipkart to Amazon!

          There was a time when e-shopping meant Flipkart. I would choose no other e-commerce website over it. Right from the launch day purchase of Moto E 1st Gen, I was a fan of Flipkart. But then, Amazon came out of nowhere, and I was pretty much skeptical whether to order something from them or not. I thought them to be another ‘ebay.in’. Then out of curiosity, I ordered a Garnier Men face wash from Amazon, for which shipping was free. I was amazed to see how carefully they had packed the face wash in a big carton, with air-cushion bags. It was not needed for a face wash, after all. It was followed up by some more purchases. 🙂 I always check the product price with Flipkart and other websites, but most of the time; I find the Amazon offer price to be the lowest. It’s not just about the discounts; a lot depends on Customer Service. One such example is the updates provided by Amazon on their Android app. Most of the apps out there write the all-time boring “Bug fixes and performance improvements”, and some don’t even care to write “What’s new?”, as if we as customers have no right to know what changes have been made to the app. Here’s the Amazon update recently (unfortunately, I don’t have the screenshot):

What’s New in Amazon Shopping v6.7.1.100 (Version History)

        There are 3,600,000 milliseconds in an hour. Sounds like a lot of time, huh? At Amazon, we measure every extra millisecond it takes for a page to load. And every day, we have developers who are helping Amazon load faster, one millisecond at a time. Just like you aren’t the same person today that you were a year ago, the Amazon App continues to improve, hoping to make your life better, millisecond by millisecond. Have a great day!

—The Amazon Android team

          This definitely surprised me. What matters is the simple things that you do for your customers.

          Just two weeks ago, I had ordered a Fastrack watch from Amazon, for which the price dropped by 112/- just minutes after the payment was processed. I was regretting not having made the purchase a few minutes later. I had seen posts on the internet how Amazon.com had refunded price drops to their customers’ account. With that glimmer of a hope, I contacted Amazon over chat and they said that they don’t have anything to do regarding price drops, it’s the policy of the seller, but can make an exception for me. Voila! They credited a Gift Card to my account for INR 112/-. I was very much impressed by their service. As a customer, it’s just that you have to be polite while addressing your grievances. I have seen many people reply with expletives on the Android app comment section, on how disgusted they are with the service. Still, Amazon, or any other app for that matter, reply politely, leaving aside the amount of expletives they have to read from their customers every day. This is something to learn for all of us, indeed.I would like to share another instance, for which I have a chat excerpt with an Amazon Representative. They have earned a lifetime customer in me, after this incident. Here it is:

Me: Hi Amazon. I received a Black Polo Shirt today, by Ajile – Pantaloons. It bears a manufacturing date of 11/14. Why is the old stock being pushed now? Aren’t we supposed to receive fresh stock of T-Shirts? There is no problem with the T-Shirt, just that the white borders look dull.

Fatima: Hello, my name is Fatima. I’ll certainly try to help regarding your concern.

Me: Hi Fatima. 🙂

Fatima: Please be assured that, I’ve taken your comments as suggestion and forwarded it to our concerned team. 🙂

Me: Okay.

Fatima: Sir, if you wish to you may get it returned for full refund.

Me: No, it’s ok. The product is fine.

Just that it should have been a newer stock 🙂

Fatima: Sure thank you. It is always important for us to know how customers react to all aspects of shopping at Amazon.in. Strong customer feedback like yours helps us continue to improve the service we provide. I am issuing gift card balance of Rs.100 to youramazon.in account.

Me: Really? Oh, that’s ok. I just felt that I needed to inform you so that this doesn’t happen again.

Fatima: Sure, sir. Thank you for bringing this to our notice.

Me: My pleasure, Amazon. 🙂

Fatima: Thank You!

Is there anything else I may help you with today?

Me: No, that’s it for today. Thank you for your exceptional support.

Fatima: It was a pleasure to assist you with this. Thank you for contacting Amazon. We hope to see you again. Have a Wonderful night and great week Eid ahead.

Me: Thank you. Have a great week and Eid 🙂

Fatima: Thank you so much. You may check your gc balance now 🙂

Me: Alright. Thanks Amazon, but it wasn’t necessary 🙂 “

I’m happy to choose Amazon, thanks!

         They are literally armed with Gift Cards. If they find you unhappy with a purchase, or anything for that matter, they make sure to compensate for it. This is truly remarkable.

        And recently, Morgan Stanley had lowered its estimate of Flipkart’s valuation for the second successive quarter in a row. Also, when Flipkart snubbed 6 IIM-A graduates, I wasn’t much surprised.

        At the same time, Amazon has pumped in additional $2 Billion as an investment in India, making it a total of $5 Billion. They are slowly, but steadily making their way up the ladder in the Indian market, and in no time, they will be the market leaders.

Just keep doing what you have been doing, Amazon. Consistency is the key.

– SAIRAM, II-YEAR, PGDM

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

